Monday, April 23, 2012

New Issues Poetry Prize

New Issues Poetry & Prose
April 2012
Join Our Mailing List
About Us
New Issues Poetry & Prose was established in 1996 by poet Herbert S. Scott.

Find us on Facebook  Visit our blog

Fall 2012

The Right Place to Jump 
Peter Covino 

The Frame Called Ruin 
Hadara Bar-Nadav 

A Penance 
CJ Evans 

Spring 2013

Phantom Camera
Jaswinder Bolina

Marni Ludwig

The Most Natural Thing
David Keplinger

Fall 2013

Ain't No Grave
T.J. Jarrett

Large White House Speaking
Mark Irwin

Cullen Bailey Burns 

Dear Friends,   

We are pleased to announce the winner of the 2012 New Issues Poetry Prize: Marni Ludwig for her manuscript PinwheelLudwig wins a $2,000 award and publication of her manuscript in the spring of 2013.  
Marni Ludwig
Marni Ludwig 
Marni Ludwig holds degrees from Sarah Lawrence College, Columbia University and Washington University in St. Louis.  Her poems have appeared in Boulevard, FIELD, Gulf Coast, High Chair, JERRY, Western Humanities Review and other journals. Her chapbook, Little Box of Cotton and Lightning, was selected by Susan Howe for a 2011 Poetry Society of America Chapbook Fellowship. She lives in St. Louis and Brooklyn.

"Marni Ludwig has a vast and original mind and spirit, which along with her quiet, sometimes sharp humor, and her tenderness, implicate everyone.  Her skill is like a good horse, who becomes one with the rider and with her wild, unheard of travels.  Here is the real thing."
    -Jean Valentine, from the judge's citation  

Also accepted for publication:
Ain't No Grave by T.J. Jarrett 
to appear in the fall of 2013
The New Issues Poetry Prize is awarded annually for a full-length debut collection of poetry. The judge for the 2013 New Issues Poetry Prize is David St. John. Guidelines are available on our website. 
Congratulations, Susanna Childress!  
Entering the House of Awe

Susanna Childress won the Society of Midland Authors Award for Poetry for her collection Entering the House of Awe.

Congratulations, Kevin Fenton!  
Merit Badges
Merit Badges

Kevin Fenton won the Friends of American Writers Literary Award for Fiction for his novel Merit Badges.

Congratulations, Khaled Mattawa!  

Khaled Mattawa won the Poetry Center Book Award for his collection Tocqueville.  

Our titles are available online through and

No comments: