Friday, January 28, 2011

New Issues @ AWP 2011

The Editors of New Issues Press will be at the AWP Conference in Washington DC next week. Come by the bookfair table to check out our new titles and chat to the Editors. Table A22.


Friday, 1:30 - 2:45 - AWP Award Series Reading (Featuring Kevin Fenton, author of Merit Badges)

Saturday, 3 - 4:15 - Remembering Jack Myers, author of the forthcoming collection The Memory of Water (New Issues, 2011)

Book Signings:

  • Thursday, 3 - 4 p.m. LISA LEWIS, author of Vivisect
  • Friday, 10 - 11 a.m. JUDY HALEBSKY, author of Sky=Empty
  • Saturday, 10 - 11 a.m. KEITH EKISS, author of Pima Road Notebook
  • Saturday, 12 - 1 p.m. BECKIAN FRITZ GOLDBERG, author of Reliquary Fever: New and Selected Poems
  • Saturday, 1:30 - 2:30 p.m. KEVIN FENTON, author of the novel Merit Badges

Friday, January 21, 2011

Winner of the 2011 Green Rose Prize

Winner: Corey Marks
The Editors of New Issues Poetry and Prose are pleased to announce the winner of the 2011 Green Rose Prize: Corey Marks for his manuscript The Radio Tree. Corey wins a $2,000 award and publication of his manuscript in the spring of 2012.

Corey Marks’ Renunciation was a National Poetry Series selection published by the University of Illinois Press. His poems have appeared in New England Review, The Paris Review, Ploughshares, The Threepenny Review, TriQuarterly, The Virginia Quarterly Review, and in the anthology, Legitimate Dangers. He’s received a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Natalie Ornish Prize from the Texas Institute of Letters, and the Bernard F. Conners Prize from The Paris Review. He holds a Ph.D. in creative writing and literature from University of Houston and an MFA in poetry from Warren Wilson. An associate professor and director of creative writing at University of North Texas, he lives in Denton with his wife, Amy, and their daughter, Madeleine.

Also accepted for publication:
The Frame Called Ruin by Hadara Bar-Nadav
to appear in the fall of 2012

The Green Rose Prize is awarded to an author who has previously published at least one full-length book of poems. Winners are chosen by the editors of New Issues Press. Guidelines are available on our website.

The Green Rose Prize in Poetry

2010: Seth Abramson

2009: Malinda Markham
Having Cut the Sparrow’s Heart

2008: Patty Seyburn

2007: Jon Pineda
The Translator’s Diary

2006: Noah Eli Gordon
A Fiddle Pulled from the Throat of a Sparrow

2005: Joan Houlihan
The Mending Worm

2004: Hugh Seidman
Somebody Stand Up and Sing

2003: Christine Hume
Gretchen Mattox
Buddha Box

2002: Christopher Bursk
Ovid at Fifteen

2001: Ruth Ellen Kocher
When the Moon Knows You're Wandering

2000: Martha Rhodes
Perfect Disappearance

Monday, January 10, 2011

Goldbloom Wins GLCA New Writers Award

Goldie Goldbloom's novel Toads’ Museum of Freaks and Wonders has won the 2011 GLCA New Writers Award for Fiction from the Great Lakes Colleges Association. Winning writers receive invitations to visit GLCA member colleges, where they give readings, meet and talk about writing with students and faculty members.

The GLCA judges noted:
This novel includes stunning descriptions of place; it is interestingly grounded in the historical billeting of Italian soldiers in the Australian outback during the Second World War. Its characters are both quirky and well-grounded, and their many eccentricities make the novel both distinctive and compelling.

Toads' Museum of Freaks and Wonders is part of the AWP Award Series in the Novel, published by New Issues Press. Goldbloom's novel was selected for the series by Joanna Scott.

Toads' Museum of Freaks and Wonders
Goldie Goldbloom

Monday, January 3, 2011

New Book: Merit Badges by Kevin Fenton

Merit Badges
by Kevin Fenton

AWP Award Series in the Novel
Judge: Jim Shepard

Follow four friends as they move from The Brady Bunch to Seinfeld, from junior high to middle management. There is Quint, whose rebellion frays into self-destruction; Slow, who struggles to become the world's first teenage father figure; Chimes, who fears losing his friends while picking up a 7-10 split; and Barb who escapes the conformity of Minnisapa only to find herself returning by dark of night. You will feel as if you've always lived in Minnisapa, Minnesota. And you will never underestimate nice kids from the Midwest again.

"An impressive vitality, droll wit, and affecting nostalgia lift Fenton's first novel about four high school pals growing up together during the 1970s in the fictional town of Minnisapa, Minn. . . . Eminently readable prose . . ."—Publisher's Weekly

Launch Party/Reading: Common Good Books (Virginia Street Swedenborgian Church 170 Virgina) St Paul, January 12, 2011: 7:30 P.M

$26.00 cloth | 233 Pages
ISBN-13: 978-1-930974-95-1
Publication Date: Jan 2011
Buy: |

Also visit:
Merit Badges @ New Issues
Merit Badges the Novel | Facebook Group