Monday, November 14, 2011

AWP 2012

New Issues Poetry & Prose
November 2011 

Fall releases from New Issues by Susanna ChildressLizzie Hutton, and Rachel Eliza Griffiths are now available.

Join Our Mailing List

About Us
New Issues
New Issues was established in 1996 by poet Herbert S. Scott.

Find us on Facebook  Visit our blog

Spring 2012

the body | of space| in the shape of the human
Andrew Allport

The Radio Tree
Corey Marks

Two-Headed Nightingale
Shara Lessley

Dear Friends,

Will you be at AWP? The annual Association of Writers & Writing Programs conference will be in Chicago, February 29-March 3, 2012. If you plan on attending, please let us know! We'll keep you informed of any off-site readings that may take place, and if you've published with New Issues we'd love to schedule a time for you to sign books at our booth. For your signing to be listed in the conference brochure, please contact me immediately.


Kimberly Kolbe
New Issues Poetry & Prose

We'd agreed to meet just here
We Agreed to Meet Just Here
Congratulations, Scott Blackwood! 

From The Austin Chronicle:

Scott Blackwood Wins Whiting Writer's Award
By Kimberley Jones, 4:00PM, Tue. Nov. 1

"We loved Scott Blackwood's 2009 novel We Agreed to Meet Just Here ... and we weren't the only ones. Last week, Blackwood received a $50,000 Whiting Writers' Award, given annually to emerging writers. The Whiting Selection Committee singled Blackwood's novel out for "its marvelous compression, and the elegiac, ominous yearning, the fugue of loss and love and death that pervades the book." The former Austinite received his MFA in Creative Writing from Texas State; he now directs the Creative Writing Program at Chicago's Roosevelt University. Blackwood was one of four fiction writers recognized by the foundation this year; ten writers from fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and playwriting are recognized annually for their "exceptional talent and promise." Previous recipients include Denis Johnson, David Foster Wallace, Deborah Eisenberg and Padgett Powell - not too shabby company to be keeping."

Whiting Writers' Awards are "awarded annually to ten emerging writers in fiction, nonfiction, poetry and plays. Since 1985, the Foundation has supported creative writing through the Whiting Writers Awards which are given annually to ten emerging writers in fiction, nonfiction, poetry and plays. The awards, of $50,000 each, are based on accomplishment and promise. Candidates are proposed by nominators from across the country whose experience and vocations bring them in contact with individuals of extraordinary talent. Winners are chosen by a selection committee, a small group of recognized writers, literary scholars, and editors, appointed annually by the Foundation."


Coming Soon...
Flea Circus: a brief bestiary of grief
Flea Circus
Mandy Keifetz's Flea Circus
will be released in January 2012. Look for a review in the upcoming issue of Library Journal. 
Pascal's Wager and performing fleas. The Haunted Mansion of Long Branch and an old dockside bar. Raceway Park and a pristine 1971 Plymouth Road Runner. A cat named Altamont. These are all that stand between a young mathematician and madness as she attempts to make sense of her lover's suicide. Narrow margins, you say? Not much to place between a slip of a broken-hearted Jersey Girl and the Abyss? Indeed, it is a treacherous twelve seconds on the quarter mile, hilarious and harrowing by turn. Blink and you'll miss it.

Our titles are available online through and

Saturday, November 12, 2011

Reading Tonight

Poets in Print: Saturday, Nov. 12, 2011, 7-9 p.m.
Broadside artists: Elizabeth King and a collaboration between Alta Price and Jonah Koppel
Join us for the Poets in Print reading featuring Seth Abramson and Matthew Guenette. Readings are free and open to the public. Doors open at 6:30 with time to browse current exhibitions, the broadsides and books by the poets available for purchase and signing.

Seth Abramson is the author of two collections of poetry, Northerners, winner of the 2010 Green Rose Prize from New Issues Poetry & Prose, and The Suburban Ecstasies (Ghost Road Press, 2009). He is also the co-author of the forthcoming third edition of The Creative Writing MFA Handbook (Continuum, 2012). In 2008 he was awarded the J. Howard and Barbara M. J. Wood Prize for Poetry, and his poems have appeared in such magazines and anthologies as Best New Poets 2008, American Poetry Review, New American Writing, Boston Review, Colorado Review, and New York Quarterly. A regular contributor to Poets & Writers magazine and The Huffington Post, he is a graduate of Harvard Law School, the Iowa Writers’ Workshop and is currently a doctoral candidate in English Literature at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Matthew Guenette is the author of Sudden Anthem, winner of the 2007 American Poetry Journal Book Prize from Dream Horse Press. His latest book, American Busboy, a Finalist and Editor’s Choice of the 2010 University of Akron Press Poetry Prize, will be published in 2011. His work has appeared in Another Chicago Magazine, Barn Owl Review, DIAGRAM, Cream City Review, The Greensboro Review, Indiana Review, The Spoon River Poetry Review, Southern Indiana Review, and other publications. He is an English instructor at Madison College in Madison, Wisconsin.
Kalamazoo Book Arts Center
326 W. Kalamazoo Avenue, Suite 103A
Kalamazoo, MI