Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Call for Submissions: New Issues Poetry Prize

Postmark Deadline: November 30, 2010
$2,000 and publication for a first book of poems
Judge: David Wojahn

New Issues Press is taking submissions for the 2011 New Issues Poetry Prize, an award for a first book of poems. The winner is chosen by a guest judge. The 2011 prize will be judged by David Wojahn, author of Interrogation Palace.

Guidelines for the 2011 prize are available on our website.

New Issues also offers publication to manuscripts in addition to the winner.

New Issues Poetry Prize Past Winners:
  • 2010: Jeff Hoffman, Journal of American Foreign Policy (Judge: Linda Gregerson)
  • 2009: Judy Halebsky, Sky=Empty (Judge: Marvin Bell)
  • 2008: Justin Marks, A Million in Prizes (Judge: Carl Phillips)
  • 2007: Sandra Beasley, Theories of Falling (Judge: Marie Howe)
  • 2006: Jason Bredle, Standing in Line for the Beast (Judge: Barbara Hamby)
  • 2005: Katie Peterson, This One Tree (Judge: William Olsen)
  • 2004: Kevin Boyle, A Home for Wayward Girls (Judge: Rodney Jones)
  • 2003: Cynie Cory; Barbara Maloutas; Louise Mathias; Bradley Paul; Heidi Lynn Staples; Ever Saskya; Matthew Thorburn (Judge: Brenda Hillman)
  • 2002: Paul Guest, The Resurrection of the Body and the Ruin of the World (Judge: Campbell McGrath)
  • 2001: Sarah Mangold, Household Mechanics (Judge: C.D. Wright
  • 2000: Elizabeth Powell, Republic of Self (Judge: C.K. Williams)
  • 1999: Joy Manesiotis, They Sing to Her Bones (Judge: Marianne Boruch)
  • 1998: Malena Mörling, Ocean Avenue (Judge: Philip Levine)
  • 1997: Marsha de la O, Black Hope (Judge: Chase Twichell)

No comments: